homeschool debate | Forums Wiki

HomeSchoolDebate

Speech and Debate Resources and Community
Forums      Wiki
It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:39 pm
Not a member? Guests can only see part of the forums. To see the whole thing (and add your voice!), just register a free account by following these steps.

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Use of Kritiks in LD
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:42 am 

Home Schooled: Yes
Hey guys,

Wanted to try and start an educated discussion on the use of kritiks in Lincoln Douglas debate. A disclaimer here: I realize there are people who hate the very mention of a kritik and don't think they should ever be used. I am not trying to rile those people's opinions and I of course realize there are both sides of this issue.
But mainly what I want to say is this. I am in my third year of LD and my fourth year doing speech and debate overall. As I have debated and watched over these few years, I have noticed a pattern. Each resolution is different and unique in its own way, and there are a lot of different case ideas floating around, especially at the beginning of the year. But over the course of each season, the debates become more and more confined. Everyone, or seemingly everyone, debates within certain parameters, and certain assumptions become more and more commonplace until each debate boils down to basically the same few issues. And applications are paramount. Basically, let's face it, 90% of the debaters in stoa right now are running human rights or some version of human rights that they are calling something else. I am not criticizing those people: what I am saying is that the value debate is become rarer and rarer (ironically this is called Lincoln Douglas VALUE debate).