homeschool debate | Forums Wiki

HomeSchoolDebate

Speech and Debate Resources and Community
Forums      Wiki
It is currently Tue Mar 28, 2017 3:19 am
Not a member? Guests can only see part of the forums. To see the whole thing (and add your voice!), just register a free account by following these steps.

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Extemp Help!!!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:34 pm 

Home Schooled: Yes
I signed up for extemp at my next qualifier and I have no idea what I am doing. Do you guy's have any tips, suggestions, etc.
I really need help... :? I am completely new to extemp.

2014-2015 | Barnes/Spence
2015-2016 | Amedick/Barnes (2.0)
2016-2017 | Amedick/Barnes

"If you say "can't" you're restricting what you can do or ever will do."
-Michael Phelps

Post subject: Re: Extemp Help!!!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 6:41 pm 

Location: I'm not lost! I'm locationally challenged. -John M. Ford
Jonah.a.barnes wrote:
I signed up for extemp at my next qualifier and I have no idea what I am doing. Do you guy's have any tips, suggestions, etc.
I really need help... :? I am completely new to extemp.

Read all of the articles from the Economist in the weeks preceding the tournament. It'll take a while, but every moment will be worth it.

Focus everything in the speech around the question. If it doesn't help answer the question, cut it. See also: unified analysis.

When you practice, give yourself less prep time than you'll get at the tournament.

Once you've done a practice speech, regive it over and over a few times. It'll help you understand where your explanations aren't perfect. Look for consistent gaps in your logic--("I don't link the problem with the solution very well").

Learn basic speech layouts--past-present-future, problem/solution/prediction--and apply them by practice outlining speeches in less than a minute with sample questions.

Read the bit on introductions here.

Good luck!

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:02 pm