homeschool debate | Forums Wiki

HomeSchoolDebate

Speech and Debate Resources and Community
Forums      Wiki
It is currently Sun May 28, 2017 5:41 pm
Not a member? Guests can only see part of the forums. To see the whole thing (and add your voice!), just register a free account by following these steps.

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:33 pm 

Home Schooled: Yes
Hi guys. This is my first year of debate coaching, and although I'm an alumni, I'm trying to figure out how to effectively coach a winning club. Any suggestions/comments would be appreciated.
Thanks!

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:29 pm 

Home Schooled: No
DebateCoach94 wrote:
Hi guys. This is my first year of debate coaching, and although I'm an alumni, I'm trying to figure out how to effectively coach a winning club. Any suggestions/comments would be appreciated.
Thanks!

Well the first obligatory thing I have to say stop worrying about WINNING.
If you teach the right skills, the kids work hard, they perform to the best of their ability and you coach to the best of your ability they still might not WIN so then what?

OK so I'll get off the soapbox and assume you understand all that and just worded your question poorly.

Many factors go into determining whether or not you will have a winning club and we would need a lot more info to see where best to focus your coaching efforts.

Is this a new club or established club? How are students coming in genuine interest or parents dragging them?

As a coach your job is to come up with a game plan (teach basics, prepare for debates, expose to live debate rounds, provide feedback, teach areas identified as weaknesses, etc, etc.) then execute that game plan.

There are volumes I suppose dedicated to the subject.

Maybe focus your question better so we can focus a better answer.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:40 am 

Absolutely. Thank you so much for responding. There are a few problems I'm facing: